Emptiness & Charles Bukowski.

image

“no help for that”

“There is a place in the
heart that will
never be filled

a space

and even during the
best moments
and
the greatest times

(…)

we will wait
and
wait

in that
space.”

Charles Bukowski – from ‘You Get So Alone At Times That It Just Makes Sense’

There is a bit more to this poem and I hope you will be able to find the whole thing, with Copyright I don’t want to jeopardize anything. But I love this one so much. It’s hauntingly beautiful. It speaks to everyone who needs it or even people who don’t realize they need it, because almost anyone can relate. My heart dropped to the floor. It is so sad but very true. I also feel empty most of the time, like there is so much more for me to do or live for. But I will fill that space, I’m still young.

I’m sure its true, we all stay in that space until that place is actually filled. It maybe me and my endless hopeful thinking, I believe we will all fill that space at the end of our long journeys. I still stay in that place, but I know I will fill it, that place I’m so longing to leave.

We all long for happiness, we urge to fill our empty hearts. We search everywhere and everything till we fill it. He said it himself, deep down we are all urging something more, something it seems no one can put words too. Despite the feelings of happy times, we will wait.

I love Charles Bukowski, he had truth and feeling to his poems, which are powerful. He didn’t have to rhyme or make his poems so long that readers lose focus. I’m pretty sure not a lot of people liked his attitude, but he didn’t care, it made his life his own, and made his work understandable. He was an introvert and loved being alone, and it was said to believe he drank so much because he didn’t like crowds or people too much.

With this poem it showed me you really aren’t alone with loneliness, depression, and your need for more. I don’t know when he wrote this poem, whether or not he was famous at the time. If so, he felt this way, he felt empty when he was a famous poet, making money, life with his wife and cats at home. It’s okay not to be okay. It’s okay to feel this way. Just as long as you try to remember you won’t stay there forever.

His life seemed interesting, It seemed he showed all his emotions and life through his work, I’m not sure if they are all true and true to his whole life, but I want to believe it was. The poems I have read showed his writers block, relationship with his wife and other women, and relationships with his family, his sadness and his escape. If you don’t seem to understand poetry or even like it, Try Mr. Charles Bukowski. You may fall in love. It’s not the kind of poetry we had to learn in school.

Mr. Bukowski believed it his empty place in his heart would never be filled, but why not? I wonder if he ever filled it at the end of his life. I wonder if he ever found his happiness. If he ever left that empty space. Despite what he said.

There is another poem, that I can’t seem to forget from him ‘The History Of One Tough Mother****’, it is one of my favorites. It’s about a cat. And As I said in my About Me, I am and forever will be a cat lover. Even if you aren’t a cat person I think you would enjoy this poem. Charles Bukowski doesn’t look like a cat person yet he wrote multiple poems of cats, and he had many cats in his home.

 

Is it we always want more and more of material things when we are living or just one big forever life changing thing to fill that empty space? Maybe even something no one can really put words to.

Do you believe you will leave and fill that empty space in the end? Have you left yet?

Sincerely Yours, Jolee G

Leave a Reply

