Reality Show Rant.

I may be the only one of my generation who doesn’t like reality shows. Please tell me I’m not the only one.

Every time I turn on the TV, change the channel, or even look at the TV Guide, there is a numerous amount of reality shows or competitions exploiting peoples privaces, and/or exaggerating their drama. I just really can’t stand reality shows, I guess the people who signed up for the show, signed up for the money and signed up for their drama. It makes good ratings and good publicity, and gives the “stars” their names.

I hate seeing channels I used to enjoy like MTV, WeTV, even the History channel, having shows that don’t really relate to the channels true intent. MusicTelevision? They only play Music in between shows and a couple of hours during the mornings. WeTv, now filled with Bridezilla and other wedding shows. History, is now mostly antique shows, I actually did like the history and documentaries, which I actually learned from.

I really don’t care about other peoples drama, I have mine of my own, thank you, and it seems like the producers overdue the drama within commercials and dramatic breaks in the middle, that later you realize its not even that serious. Every single channel I have has any sort of drama filled useless shows. I mean I’m fine with Food Network or Bravo having competitions, or stories. I guess I just want to be able to watch sitcoms, drama shows, or even music on the TV without seeing commercials of useless shows.

It’s truthfully probably just me, I’m a peace lover, I have a strong dislike for violence and drama of all sort. I mean I do like shows like Desperate Housewives, and Parenthood, and I understand things like that do happen to people, and based on true things but it’s not 100% real and doesn’t exploit real living people. I just don’t personally enjoy seeing real people go through that. Watching people party, seeing families torn apart, watching marriages being destroyed, all the cheating and lying.Yes real people go through those problems but why show it? How do people not want to deal with that for themselves, and how do people enjoy watching that. That later they become famous for it!

So many stars and celebrities are becoming famous for their drama. Without Kardashians show, the Kardashians and the Jenners wouldn’t be famous as they are today, sure the dads were famous before, and Kim’s sex tape. But that show made them. How were they all famous before that? And  Teen Moms and Jersey Shore. Most of those people wouldn’t be famous without their show. All for money. Plus the fact that Kim Kardashian thinks she deserves her own star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, that is a bit ridiculous

I made this probably useless rant, because I’m sick of people becoming famous for nothing, and seeing more useless shows build up! I’m fine with competition type shows like Project Runway and America’s Got Talent because everyone who gets on those kinds of shows actually have talent.

People who have talent should be on TV, not people with “drama”. Everyone in the world has drama of their own. Please Networks, stop making these shows. I guess people, or even you may enjoy it, maybe it is a show you just want to not think about, and you may even like the drama. I just don’t like any part of it. To me its just people doing dumb things, and getting paid for it.

Sincerely Yours Jolee G

 

 

Leave a Reply

