The Man In The Arena, & Teddy Roosevelt.

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

– From Theodore Roosevelt’s speech, “Citizenship In A Republic” in Paris, April 23, 1910

 

I discovered this a couple of years ago at a convention when Brene Brown came up and explained this quote, and elaborated on her book Daring Greatly, with fears and all. It was very inspiring. It’s okay if you fail and fail again just as long as you dared greatly, as long as you tried your hardest, as long as you tried with your heart and all. It doesn’t matter if you win or lose it matters how much effort you put into it. It matters that you tried at all.

We all fail, its not fair but it happens for a good reason. Maybe its because we didn’t want it enough or we didn’t give it our whole heart like it deserved or it just plainly wasn’t time. I maybe cliche (and that’s okay) but I believe everything happens for a reason, the good and the bad.

Another key point was that It doesn’t matter at all what anyone else has come, said, or judged you. They are not in your place, they have not fought your fight.

When I was younger so many people told me if you keep thinking bad things, bad things will happen. Of course I didn’t understand it then, I didn’t understand how the universe can do that. How could the universe and the future be reading my mind. I was actually kind of scared to be thinking bad thoughts when I was younger. But I have grown to believe that saying to be true. That is why today I try my hardest to bring positivity to the world, bring happiness and love to everyone who needs it and even to those who don’t. Why would I try to bring more sadness to peoples lives. That is what I’m trying to with this blog. That is the main reason I wanted to start this. A long while ago I was living with a lot negativity and sadness in my heart and its not good for anyone. I have grown from it, but I still know I need some growing up to do.

My favorite part of this “quote” is the last couple of lines

“if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

Because even till this day it still helps me. Exactly like it says I would rather fail, or choose to at least try and do something no one else wants to do than be with those who have done anything, who don’t know what winning or losing feels like. It motivates and pushes me to do more, do something completely out of my comfort zone.

As many times United States 26th president, Teddy Roosevelt has dealt with losing his wife and his mom in the same house and day, the day his first child was born. He was happy, and he was a great president. I admire him for that. He wasn’t perfect, no president has been (well no one is perfect) He was a Rough Rider and the only president to have a Medal of Honor. Many people have John F Kennedy as their favorite president and on their walls, but Theodore Roosevelt is mine!

Who is your favorite president?

Have you ever been proud of your failures, knowing you tried your hardest?

Do something with your whole heart. It’s okay if you fail, just as long as you really tried. Please don’t regret your failure especially when you tried your hardest (It just wasn’t the right time.) It doesn’t matter what anyone says or thinks. Do what you need to do!

Sincerely yours, Jolee G.

Leave a Reply

